Whenever I talk to someone about social media I hear a very one dimensional view of what social media is. Today for example, I was talking to a fellow baby boomer and the topic of social media came up. His response was, ‘I’m not a blogger’. Now there’s nothing wrong with that off course but blogging is only one aspect of social media. If you’ve rated a purchasing experience on ebay – you’re into social media. If you’ve viewed a youtube video – yep, that’s social media too. Do you place your footy tips online – need I go on.

One of the best explanations of the various ways one can participate in social media comes from Forrester Research. They list 6 categories – I’m sure you’ll find yourself in one. Check out the slide show.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Social Technographics Explained“, posted with vodpod

 

